What are the Food Hygiene Ratings scheme?

5 – Standards are very good

4 – Standards are good

3 – Standards are generally satisfactory

2 – Some improvement is necessary

1 – Major improvement is necessary

0 – Urgent improvement is required


How does the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme Work?

During an Environmental Health Inspection (EHO). The EHO will be checking the following:

  1. Food handling – how it is prepared, cooked, cooled, stored, and what measures are taken to prevent food being contaminated with bacteria

  2. Structural - The condition of the premises must be clean, good layout, sufficient lighting, adequate ventilation, and good working equipment

  3. Food Safety Management - How the business manages and records what it does to make sure food is safe using a system like Safer Food, Better Business (SFBB).

  • 84% of the public that has been surveyed want Food Hygiene Ratings Scheme to be mandatory.

  • Food Hygiene Ratings Scheme (FHRS) came into effect in 2010 for better food quality within the food industry.

  • North Ireland and Wales they are already required by law to display their ratings.